Portobello Road Market

Whoever has seen the Notting Hill film is definitely familiar with Portobello Market. Today is Saturday, which is the main market day for antiques and that’s where I’m going today. Some stalls and most shops are also open on other days of the week.

I arrive at the Notting Hill Gate tube station and start my walk from there.

IMG_0005

Lucky Notting Hill inhabitants live in houses like this with pretty little gardens.

IMG_0006

IMG_0007

Portobello Road is swarming with people, mainly tourists. It was probably less crowded early in the morning.

IMG_0008

The antique stalls all look very interesting – for example, there are quite a few that sell porcelain, most of which looks so traditionally English that you want to buy it all and throw a ginormous afternoon tea party.

IMG_0011

IMG_0019

IMG_0039

IMG_0042

One desire that does not remain unrealised, however, is buying a few pieces of silver cutlery, which is my only purchase for today.

IMG_0012

Generally, the market is a true silverware kingdom. There are so many stalls selling cutlery, tea- and coffeepots, toast racks, vases, pitchers, serving plates, gravy boats – you name it.

IMG_0015

IMG_0023

IMG_0030

IMG_0045

It’s such a shame that I’m not a jewellery fan: this stuff does look fascinating indeed!

IMG_0013

If I was still a little girl, what wouldn’t I give for a dollhouse like this? Having a dollhouse had been my biggest dream as a child, and sadly I never got one 😦

IMG_0017

Portobello Road is really long and the stalls stretch a whole mile along it.

IMG_0018

I’m not sure why people still collect vinyl records, but this stall seems pretty popular!

IMG_0021

I do, however, perfectly understand why someone would collect old books. It doesn’t make rational sense in this day and age, of course, but there’s probably nothing as cosy as an old book with yellow pages and that specific smell!

IMG_0022

Speaking of this day and age, I’d say that CD’s have become an antique as well already.

IMG_0026

Those tartan scarves and Scottish knitwear in the middle of summer make me think of the proverb “Don’t have thy cloak to make when it begins to rain”.

IMG_0024

One doesn’t really know where to look first, there’s so much stuff everywhere: pictures, posters, lace, fur, African totems, Jamaican rastacaps etc., etc.

IMG_0025

IMG_0028

IMG_0040

IMG_0043

IMG_0069

This is where I expect my camera to make a respectful bow to its long-ago ancestors.

IMG_0032

This must be a little boy’s heaven! “Smile!” commanded the seller to the toy soldiers, as he saw me with a camera, but for some reason they ignored the command – not the most obedient lot apparently!

IMG_0033

I’m continuing my walk up Portobello Road.

IMG_0038

I literally fell in love with those pillowcases, especially the ones with the cat and the rabbit.

IMG_0044

I think, this stall looks so typical. It’s even hard to identify what they have here, it seems like there’s a bit of everything: books, magazines, posters, vinyls, calendars…

IMG_0046

Some of those wall plaques are pretty amazing. I could spend ages just standing there and reading them one by one.

IMG_0048

Those are 3D pop-up greeting cards – what a great idea, and they are made very nicely too.

IMG_0062

Now I wish I hadn’t had lunch just before leaving home: a crêpe with Nutella, banana and strawberry would have been perfect right now.

IMG_0049

The next section of the market mainly consists of food stalls, which run not only on Saturdays. First of all, there are farmer-grown fruits and vegetables.

IMG_0050

And there is street food, of course. For example, you could get a freshly-made bruschetta here.

IMG_0051

There’s something interesting sizzling in those woks. I don’t really like eating street food, by the way, but I do like looking at it.

IMG_0052

I have to admit, those doughnuts, brownies and muffins look damn good, though!

IMG_0054

And so do these tarts, the carrot cake and the blueberry cheesecake. Yum!

IMG_0056

This, quite obviously, is the hot dog stall.

IMG_0057

The olive bar has a lot of customers, I guess those must be pretty good olives – it might be worth trying next time!

IMG_0061

And here is how they make fresh paella. There is no rice in any of these pans yet – apparently they’ve just started making these batches.

IMG_0065

IMG_0067

That’s a really cool way to serve pineapple smoothies.

IMG_0072

As I walk further, I notice this very pretty restaurant, Garden & Grill. That rooftop seating area must be great and I don’t imagine it being very easy to get a table there.

IMG_0073

There’s even an unofficial Banksy store, selling a huge range of merchandise with Banksy art.

IMG_0075

I then see more and more interesting things, like flowery headbands, gypsy-style kerchiefs and cutting/carving tools for fruit and veggies.

IMG_0076

IMG_0077

IMG_0078

Finally I reach the intersection of Portobello Road with Westway and decide to turn left to get the tube at Ladbroke Grove station. There is still more of Portobello Market, like this furniture shop, but it doesn’t look as fun anymore.

IMG_0083

If I were to turn right, I’d get into this Acklam Village Street Food Market, which hosts a huge selection of international street food. But since, as I mentioned, I’m not a fan, there’s hardly anything for me to do there.

IMG_0081

As I walk towards the station, there are more and more stalls.

IMG_0079

IMG_0084

The seller at the Henna Den wasn’t particularly happy with me taking pictures. “Thanks for asking,” he said sarcastically.

IMG_0085

The lady selling Chinese freshwater pearls didn’t seem to mind though. I didn’t come any closer anyway – I’ve seen this kind of stuff in abundance in China.

IMG_0086

And the last photo will be this one of a Brazilian street eatery right next to the Ladbroke Grove station.

IMG_0087

 

 

2 thoughts on “Portobello Road Market

Leave a comment