Shoreditch

Last night I was in Shoreditch. It is not a particularly picturesque part of London (at least not in the usual sense of the word ‘picturesque’) and it even used to be a pretty dodgy area up until 10-15 years ago, since which it has become very popular among young people, especially hipsters.

I arrived at Old Street, which kind of looks like a border between Shoreditch and the City, as this picture clearly shows, when it was still daylight.

IMG_9798

The street cafés are buzzing, even though it is a weekday evening.

IMG_9799

I decided to take a closer picture of this graffiti. Overall, Shoreditch is pretty famous for its street art, there are plenty of graffiti works all around the area, some of which I’ll show in a moment.

IMG_9800

But just before I could take more pictures of the street art, I met some of my classmates for a drink and then we went to the Xoyo club to see another classmate’s band performing.

IMG_9801

It was amazing, by the way! My classmate’s vocal band is called Trills and they performed at Glastonbury just a couple of weeks ago. Another band, which played just before them – The Very Best with a Malawian singer – was also really awesome!

IMG_9803

I left about 10:30, and the streets of Shoreditch already looked pretty empty – that’s definitely not a sight one would experience on a Friday night, for example!

IMG_9813

IMG_9814

And here are, as promised, some examples of graffiti, that I caught a glimpse of on my way.

IMG_9816

IMG_9819

IMG_9820

IMG_9821

IMG_9823

IMG_9824

IMG_9826

IMG_9827

IMG_9829

Even this temporary passage through a scaffold gantry has been turned into a piece of art.

IMG_9822

And finally – my absolute favourite: a giant hedgehog!

IMG_9828

Apart from the graffiti, nothing looks particularly interesting in the area, and it’s definitely not my favourite in London, although I know so many people who absolutely love Shoreditch!

IMG_9825

IMG_9814

 

Leave a Reply

