The City

It’s a beautiful morning and I need to go to Liverpool street to meet my friends for breakfast, but just before that I want to walk around the City a bit and, specifically, see the St Dunstan-in-the-East  Church.

So I take the tube to Monument and walk down Lower Thames Street. Here I see a Lewis Carroll-inspired pub.

IMG_0225

And here is the church. It is hidden so well, that I would have never come across it unless I was looking for it on purpose, which I was.

IMG_0227

The church itself has been closed, I think, since the bombing during WWII, when it was largely damaged. But the ruins have been turned into a public garden.

IMG_0229

I’d say it’s a true hidden gem. There aren’t that many visitors, and it feels really nice and peaceful here.

IMG_0230

IMG_0232

This is one of the walls that remained from the church. I love the combination of the grey stone, which the gothic-style wall is made of, and the green ivy covering it.

IMG_0233

It looks like the steeple somehow survived the bombing and remained intact.

IMG_0238

Here it is again, with a piece of ‘The Walkie-Talkie’ building visible behind it.

IMG_0234

Another church I see from the distance is the All Hallows by the Tower Church. For some reason there are quite a few of them in the City.

IMG_0240

It’s a standard busy morning for City workers, which probably needs to start with coffee for many of them!

IMG_0241

I think, coming here on a weekday morning was a good idea: it is not a rush hour, when the streets would be packed with people, but it’s not a weekend, when the City is unnaturally empty.

IMG_0242

It’s the first time that I see how beer is delivered to a pub!

IMG_0244

I guess I have to accept this statement as true without proof – I’m sure the author knows better! I don’t know why exactly, but this ‘graffiti’ seems to have gone pretty viral around the world.

IMG_0245

What I like about the City is the combination of old and new architecture. Quite suprisingly, they go really well together and look harmonious.

IMG_0246

That is what makes it so different from Canary Wharf, which is all made up of new constructions. Here, though, a tall glass structure peeping from behind an old historical building is a common sight.

IMG_0251

This looks really interesting – apparently they are keeping this old wall and planning to make it the facade of some new building.

IMG_0253

These are some of the City’s skyscrapers.

IMG_0254

Finally I reach the Liverpool Street station.

IMG_0255

And here is my destination: Broadgate Circle. The place looks really un-Londonlike, I’d rather picture something like this in Singapore or Hong Kong than here.

IMG_0256

Broadgate Circle actually ‘positions’ itself as a dining hub and I can see quite a few nice restaurants.

IMG_0259

IMG_0260

 

 

One thought on “The City

Leave a Reply

