St James’s Park & Green Park

Usually, when I have a lot of time and want to walk in parks, I start with Kensington Gardens and then move to Hyde Park, Green Park and, finally, St James’s Park. However, last time, when I posted about Kensington Gardens and Hyde Park, I didn’t have time for the remaining two.

So today I am going to make up for this, starting with St James’s Park. Although, I like this park slightly less than Kensington and Hyde Parks, I still find it very nice and one big reason for this is the flowers.

IMG_0269

I like the flowers here way better than elsewhere, apparently they are selected very carefully and with great taste to make truly magnificent compositions.

IMG_0270

IMG_0297

IMG_0298

It’s quite early in the morning, the weather is pretty warm and relatively bright, albeit with a few clouds here and there.

IMG_0271

The other reason why I am really fond of this park is the St James’s Park Lake right in the middle of it, taking up at least one third of the park’s total area.

IMG_0274

IMG_0276

Like in the case of all other lakes and ponds in other parks, there are lots of birds here.

IMG_0293

Only I find the wildlife much more varied here. Besides the usual ducks, geese and swans, there are herons, for example.

IMG_0288

And these, if I’m not mistaken, must be pelicans. The three of them look pretty funny, as if they are having a conversation right there.

IMG_0295

Knowing my utmost affection towards both bridges and geese, it’s not difficult to guess that this picture looks perfect to me!

IMG_0280

The Blue Bridge, by the way, is always busy with people taking pictures. One may ask, why.

IMG_0282

And the answer is this spectacular view of Buckingham Palace that you get from it.

IMG_0284

Or, the no less amazing view of London Eye and Horse Guards Parade from the other side.

IMG_0286

One last picture of the lake just before I leave St James’s Park and head towards Green Park.

IMG_0299

This is a rather pretentious flower bed next to Green Park’s Canada Gate in front of the Buckingham Palace.

IMG_0300

I’m sure, there are no introductions needed, but just in case: this is the Buckingham Palace itself.

IMG_0304

As always, there are gazillions of tourists around it. Given that it’s still early enough in the morning, I’m sure they are waiting for Changing the Guard ceremony.

IMG_0306

Green Park itself is my least favourite out of all, I would say. All it consists of are vast open spaces, and there isn’t really anything interesting to see.

IMG_0307

It looks like someone is having a pre-wedding photoshoot.

IMG_0308

This is the Piccadilly side of the park, close to the Green Park underground station, and I find it slightly nicer.

IMG_0309

 

One thought on “St James’s Park & Green Park

Leave a Reply

