Kilburn

As much as I like walking around my favourite parts of London, it’s always nice to discover new places. Today I have a meeting in Kilburn, which is in north-east London, and I thought I should take my camera with me, since I haven’t been there before and I might not go there again.

The Jubilee line takes me to the Kilburn station, from where I start my rather short walk around the area.

IMG_0310

Fruits and vegetables seem to be everywhere – I’ve come across a good few stalls like this. So the air smells nicely and sweetly of summer fruits: peaches, cherries and watermelons. Occasionally it also smells like weed smoke, but that’s a whole different story, I guess.

IMG_0311

There is this interesting piece of street art right across the road from the tube station.

IMG_0312

Kilburn High Road is really crowded with all sorts of little shops, cafés, pubs and other establishments.

IMG_0313

And that’s what the houses look like in this area. Architecture-wise they are quite nice, but it is the colour that makes them look somewhat dull, at least to my taste – I guess, I’m just too used to the red brick houses in my part of London.

IMG_0314

I only realise that I’ve been walking in the wrong direction for a bit when I find myself in the middle of a residential area.

IMG_0316

This part of the residential area doesn’t look anything like London to me.

IMG_0315

On my way back I notice a couple of interesting-looking beer places.

IMG_0317

As I Googled what there was to see around the Kilburn station before leaving home, I found Kilburn Grange Park, so I was really determined to visit it. The park looks nothing special at the first glance – there is a large open area, a playground, a basketball court and some other sport facilities.

IMG_0318

But then I notice this little rose garden.

IMG_0319

There are roses of various sizes and colours here and I notice some people examining them very carefully, discussing them and even naming their classifications, which sounds really impressive.

IMG_0320

IMG_0321

Pay attention to the animal that woman has on a leash – it’s not actually a dog, but a ferret!

IMG_0323

And here are a few more pictures of the beautiful rose garden.

IMG_0324

IMG_0325

IMG_0326

IMG_0327

One thought on “Kilburn

Leave a Reply

