Camden Town

I consider Camden Town to be the coolest place in London. What it’s mostly known for are alternative subcultures – it’s even referred to as London’s goth and punk incubator!

I arrive at the Camden High Street and the first thing I see are hordes of people swarming around, most of which seem to be tourists. It’s not surprising though, as it’s Saturday and the weather is exceptionally warm.

IMG_0365

Generally, Camden High Street is a true piece of art in itself. The buildings here are all painted in different colours and decorated.

IMG_0366

The clothes they sell in the shops here are as quirky and funky as you would expect!

IMG_0367

Of course, there are the usual high street chain shops as well, but even those look quite different when they have walls like that above them!

IMG_0368

What is going on here? I have no idea. It definitely looks like the Mad Hatter’s Tea Party, but I’m not sure if he’s selling something, or advertising a tea house, or just sitting there for his own pleasure.

IMG_0370

Now those are super impressive decorations! And really informative too – at least anyone looking for shoes or Indian crafts or gothic clothing can spot these shops from far away.

IMG_0371

IMG_0372

So I cross the road to take a closer look. I used to be quite a fan of gothic lifestyle a good ten years ago, but never owned proper gothic clothes. I rather treated shops like these like museums, where I could just look around, than places to actually buy stuff. By the way, believe it or not, but I’m just noticing the ‘no photography’ signs now as I’m writing this post. Sorry about that, dear shop owners!

IMG_0400

The Indian crafts shop looks colourful and fun!

IMG_0401

Another building with super cool decorations is this leather and boot store.

IMG_0374

IMG_0399

And those are the boots they sell, most of which are punk or gothic styled, obviously. Those aren’t cheap boots, I should tell you!

IMG_0376

Further on, there are more buildings with graffiti and 3D decorations on them. I think, it’s impossible not to fall in love with this street!

IMG_0377

IMG_0378

IMG_0396

Finally I reach the Regent’s Canal.

IMG_0380

There is a street food market nearby, which I’m heading to, and it’s around lunch time, so people are sitting at the waterside, or wherever they can find a place, and eating.

IMG_0381

IMG_0382

The whole area, with its shops, cafés and street market is buzzing.

IMG_0383

This part of the canal is fully covered with algae and looks really weird!

IMG_0384

This, I think, is the twin manually operated Camden lock.

IMG_0394

There is quite a cool street food market around Camden Lock – or at least, I’m guessing that it’s cool, since I’ve never tried it myself: as we all remember, I like looking at street food, but eating it much less so.

IMG_0385

IMG_0389

It looks like the presence of paella at any self-respecting street food market is an absolute must!

IMG_0390

And these are Danish pancakes – literally the smallest pancakes I have ever seen in my life.

IMG_0387

On my way back to the tube station I spot this guy and his impressive chalk and charcoal (?) art. The arrow and the pictures on the left clearly indicate that he doesn’t really appreciate being photographed for free – or even for pennies – but I’m pretty happy to part with a pound to take this picture.

IMG_0403

 

Leave a Reply

