Primrose Hill & Regent’s Park

It’s still hot in London, but slightly more bearable than yesterday, so today I’m doing a relatively long walk around Primrose Hill and Regent’s Park, for which I take the tube to Chalk Farm station and walk along Adelaide Road.

IMG_0503

This little side road is called Bridge Approach, and since the bridge looks interesting, I go there to explore a bit, but it turns out to be an ordinary overline bridge, nothing exciting.

IMG_0504

I mentioned already that hilly roads and streets looked way more picturesque than flat ones – so, ditto.

IMG_0505

And the flowers I’ve mentioned already as well – maybe not even once. Seriously, if it weren’t for the flowers, there wouldn’t be anything interesting to take pictures of on most streets.

IMG_0506

IMG_0507

IMG_0508

I was very close to declaring this one the balcony of my dreams, but at a second glance I realise that it isn’t: it’s fabulously decorated of course, but it’s so tiny that it almost looks completely useless! The balcony of my dreams should at least have room for a table and a few chairs.

IMG_0509

Now I’m at the park area around Primrose Hill.

IMG_0510

And there is the hill itself, with a viewing deck, which pretty much brings the whole London at your fingertips!

IMG_0511

The best place to chill, obviously, is the hillside, overlooking the city.

IMG_0512

Can you spot the Shard? I didn’t even realise that Primrose Hill was so far away, but apparently it is.

IMG_0513

This is how the viewing deck looks like – it’s basically a circle.

IMG_0514

Interestingly, the hill doesn’t seem that high, but I guess the whole area is kind of elevated compared to the rest of London.

IMG_0515

Otherwise, it’s just a normal park, adjacent to Regent’s park, which makes me wonder if it’s actually part of it or not.

IMG_0517

This is the view over Primrose Hill from afar.

IMG_0518

Whether Primrose Hill is part of Regent’s park or not, there is a car road separating them, which I need to cross. And after crossing I notice these nicely coloured houses that look like dollhouses, especially the pink one and the blue one.

IMG_0521

Another obstacle separating me from Regent’s Park is the Regent’s Canal. While walking across the bridge I realise that the last time I was here I had a better view over the canal, which means that most probably I crossed in a different place. So I decide to find other bridges.

IMG_0523

However, that’s easier said than done. The thing is that the London Zoo is located at Regent’s Park, specifically in this part of it. This means that most of the area is fenced and I have to figure out how to get around it. As a bonus, though, I get to see a giraffe through the fence!

IMG_0524

Finally, I seem to have found the path which will take me to another bridge over the Regent’s Canal.

IMG_0526

And here I am standing on this bridge and looking over the dead end part of the canal and something Chinese, most probably a restaurant.

IMG_0528

The bridge has stairs down to the Regent’s Canal towpath and I decide to walk along the canal a bit, towards Camden Lock, but not as far as it. That is St Mark’s Church in the picture, by the way.

IMG_0529

When I was in Camden Town a few days ago, I already pointed out that the Regent’s Canal was completely covered with algae. It certainly looks very weird like that.

IMG_0531

I’m really enjoying the walk though. There are houses, and boats, and boathouses. This place is actually the Camden Visitor moorings.

IMG_0532

I don’t know whether living by a canal is a very good idea in sanitary terms, but it must definitely be very pleasant to be able to sit at that table and enjoy the lovely view around you.

IMG_0535

So I’m not fully decided whether I consider the inhabitants of these houses very lucky or the other way round.

IMG_0536

I find another bridge and take a picture of the canal from it – now that’s a much better view than the one I got in the very beginning!

IMG_0538

And then I go back to Regent’s Park. There’s nothing really to photograph, until I reach the Inner Circle and Queen Mary’s Gardens.

IMG_0541

Now this part of the park makes me feel really strange. Objectively speaking, I know it is very beautiful and very well taken care of. However, it just seems too much to me: too symmetric, too orderly, too pompous.

IMG_0543

IMG_0544

IMG_0546

So it may sound surprising, but I definitely prefer views like this in a park.

IMG_0547

This is the Boating Lake, which is actually really big, but today I only got to see this part of it. It has paddle boats just like in Hyde Park.

IMG_0549

And finally, just before leaving the park and heading to the Baker Street station, I’m really lucky to capture this heron before it flies off.

IMG_0548

4 thoughts on “Primrose Hill & Regent’s Park

  1. I actually really love Regent’s Park, it is my favourite park in London and usually not as overrun as Hyde Park or St. James. And i always discover new spots there whenever i am in London.
    Lovely post! I will follow your blog cause i can’t get enough of London 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

