Chinatown

After writing about an area located in Zone 4, which anyone has hardly ever heard of, yesterday, I’m going touristy again today!

Chinatown is one of the coolest places in London and I simply can’t leave it out of my photowalks. I take the tube to Leicester Square, which is extremely crowded, as always.

IMG_0812

And then I turn onto Lisle Street, which is nicely decorated with flags – one of the distinguishing features of Chinatown.

IMG_0813

The first great thing about Chinatown are elements of traditional Chinese architecture here and there, like for example this pagoda at the end of Gerrard Street.

IMG_0816

The other elements are those beautiful gates. There are currently four of them.

IMG_0822

IMG_0834

IMG_0835

In fact, the fourth one was only installed earlier this year, and it is the largest and the most beautiful of all four.

IMG_0838

There are lots of different establishments in Chinatown – hair salons, medicine centres, shops, etc., but eating places definitely constitute the vast majority. The smells of different kinds of food follow you all around, some of them mouth-wateringly appetising, and some almost disgusting…

IMG_0814

You’ll see a lot of windows with hanging roasted ducks, pork bellies and even some weird-looking stuff which I failed to identify.

IMG_0818

IMG_0850

IMG_0827

IMG_0841

Almost every restaurant, café or small eatery serves dim sum, a lot of them even doing it in the evening, which is not what Chinese restaurants would usually do, as dim sum is a meal for the first half of the day.

IMG_0837

IMG_0849

Most restaurants display their elaborate menus with pictures outside. I have to say, this stuff looks really impressive and appetising, they definitely know how to attract clients!

IMG_0843

IMG_0844

Here is one of those ‘all-you-can-eat’ buffets, which I never go to. It must be a great option for someone who is capable of and willing to eat a lot, but that is not my case.

IMG_0819

And then, there are the supermarkets. I think, there are two or three of them here, and they all have a rather specific smell.

IMG_0824

I suspect, that one element of that smell is that of durian – here it is, among other exotic fruit and vegetables, stinking happily 🙂

IMG_0829

This is the inside of one of those supermarkets, which looks quite ordinary. Even though I’m really intrigued by the “exciting goods downstairs”, I don’t go there.

IMG_0830

Instead I pop into See Woo, the supermarket I usually go to (for staring mainly, I can’t recall ever buying something other than a dragon fruit there). I actually don’t have the slightest idea of what most of the products on display are.

IMG_0845

These at least I’m able to identify – dried mushrooms!

IMG_0846

They also have a downstairs section, which is dedicated to homeware, kitchenware, crockery etc.

IMG_0847

IMG_0848

And finally, there are a couple of shops selling clothes, souvenirs and decoration items, I think this one is definitely worth checking!

IMG_0853

Leave a Reply

