The Farm Girl

There is a specific reason why I mentioned my twisted ankle in the post about yesterday’s Marylebone walk: although it initially felt fine, in a few hours it got much worse and after spending a few hours at A&E I got diagnosed with a fracture, so now I’m a happy owner of a spaceboot and a pair of crutches.

I still didn’t want to miss out on my breakfast out today, so after considering various places on my list, I chose one that looked easily accessible by bus with minimal walking required. That happened to be The Farm Girl, a healthy Australian café on Portobello Road in Notting Hill.

Apparently the café has an amazing cosy patio. Luckily there are tables available – the perks of being free on weekday mornings!

IMG_1271

The patio is shared with Sister Jane, a women’s clothing brand.

IMG_1270

Every table in the café has a carafe with fresh lemon water.

IMG_1264

As per my tradition, first of all I order a cappuccino.

IMG_1267

As for the food, I want to get something special that you cannot get in other places, unlike the usual eggs, porridge or pancakes. So I get a frozen pitaya (dragon fruit) smoothie bowl topped with berries, coconut shavings, chia seeds, flaxseeds, crushed sunflower seeds and nuts with an extra topping of cacao nibs.

IMG_1266

On a warm day like this the smoothie bowl is really nice and refreshing. It’s not a huge portion, though, so not very filling. Since it’s quite late and I am going to have lunch relatively soon, I don’t get anything else, otherwise I probably would.

IMG_1269

 

Leave a Reply

