ScandiKitchen

One place which I have had in my ‘breakfast list’ for ages – even long before I actually started going out for breakfast as part of this blog – is ScandiKitchen, a Scandinavian café and grocery shop. The place is located in Fitzrovia and is a relatively short walk from the Oxford Circus tube station.

IMG_1322

This is where you order the food or pay for your groceries. Unlike what the website says, the café doesn’t actually have a menu as such, only what’s written on the blackboard.

IMG_1319

That’s the grocery part, which I didn’t actually check out.

IMG_1318

The whole place is decorated with the flags of the Scandinavian countries and various grocery products. This, for instance, looks like cheese initially – but after Googling I find out that it’s crispbread.

IMG_1317

I absolutely loved that moose crossing sign, which, I presume, should be a perfectly normal sight in Scandinavia.

IMG_1320

And now comes the interesting part, involving food and drinks! Starting with the drinks, of course I get a cappuccino, what else!

IMG_1312

This is a bowl of Nordic rye and oat porridge, topped with lingonberry jam. It might not look extremely presentable, but actually tastes very good, even though it doesn’t have a ton of toppings like fruits, berries, nuts, seeds and chocolate, which I usually add to the porridge I make at home.

IMG_1313

And of course I have to try the famous Swedish cinnamon bun. It’s good as well, if somewhat too sweet for my taste, and consistency-wise, it’s denser than a Cinnabon-type cinnamon roll.

IMG_1315

This is how everything looks all together. It’s a shame that I don’t really enjoy sitting in a café for hours, reading a book or working on my laptop, since this one would have been a perfect place for that!

IMG_1316

Leave a Reply

