Mayfair

It seems that in my desire to explore new places and discover the unknown parts of London, I have missed some of the very obvious central touristy locations. Like Mayfair.

Mayfair is definitely the most posh part of London and it’s basically the area bounded by Piccadilly, Regent Street, Oxford Street and Hyde Park. I decide to start my walk at Piccadilly Circus.

IMG_1360

As always, it’s hyper crowded – I don’t even think I’ve actually seen this place in a different state, maybe only very late at night, but even then it’s still relatively busy.

IMG_1361

Now I’m walking down Piccadilly street towards Green Park.

IMG_1362

In case anyone doesn’t know, Waterstones is a bookstore chain, and this particular one is London’s largest bookshop with five floors of books sorted thematically.

IMG_1363

This is another church of Sir Christopher Wren’s heritage (if you remember, I’ve mentioned quite a few of them in my posts about City), St James’s Anglican church.

IMG_1364

I am always fascinated by beautiful architecture, even though I hardly know anything about it and Gothic is pretty much the only style that I can distinguish among others. For example, I have absolutely no idea what style (or styles) those buildings belong to, but I just love them!

IMG_1365

It’s not just a beautiful building, by the way, it’s Fortnum & Mason, a very fancy upmarket department store, mostly selling expensive food products.

IMG_1366

On my side of the street there is the Burlington Arcade, a shopping centre, which, understandably, is also an upmarket one – location obliges.

IMG_1368

To give you some understanding of what the location obliges for, here is your average Mayfair jewellery shop (to be fair, I don’t know if it’s really average).

IMG_1371

That’s Old Bond Street with its high end fashion boutiques – come here for Cartier, Prada, Ferragamo and Tiffany, if you like it. As for me, I’m not really into fashion, so prefer spending my extra money, whenever I have it, elsewhere.

IMG_1373

I don’t know if the pictures give any of that impression at all, but when you walk around Mayfair, it almost feels like even the air is infused with luxury.

IMG_1374

This is the famous Ritz hotel right next to Green Park.

IMG_1377

I turn onto Berkeley Street and start walking towards the Berkeley Square (it’s visible there, at the end of the street in the picture).

IMG_1378

This is a narrow side street, Lansdowne Row, and it looks like every restaurant, bar and café here offers shisha, even the non-Middle Eastern ones for some reason.

IMG_1385

Some streets looks very empty, but don’t get fooled, it actually takes me a few minutes before I can capture the perfect moment when there are no cars and no people in close vicinity and obstructing the view.

IMG_1387

That’s Bruton Street, which I’m looking at from across the Berkeley Square. Google Maps tell me that there is nothing interesting there other than a few more luxury brand shops, but for some reason it’s been nicely decorated with Union Jacks.

IMG_1388

Here is yet another famous hotel, the Connaught, located at Carlos Place.

IMG_1390

Together with that little fountain, Carlos Place makes a rather common photo spot and is usually featured in various materials about Mayfair.

IMG_1402

So it’s not surprising that I want to take quite a few pictures here from different angles, including this one, very similar to the one above, but with a better view of the Church of the Immaculate Conception.

IMG_1403

It is a beautiful place indeed, and I’m really lucky with the lighting too. I generally like how sunlit buildings usually look, but this one is actually even beyond lovely!

IMG_1404

The Church of the Immaculate Conception, run by Jesuits, by the way, has a very nice courtyard, which then turns into Mount Street Gardens.

IMG_1406

The gardens are also very pretty and also quiet and peaceful. I guess, it has to do with the location – they are kind of hidden between several buildings, so not that easy to find.

IMG_1407

IMG_1408

Since I’m very close to Hyde Park already, I’m going to end my walk there. The final photo is that of one more very famous hotel, The Dorchester and, even more importantly, the flowers in front of it.

IMG_1409

 

One thought on “Mayfair

Leave a Reply

