Brixton Market

It’s Saturday (yes, yes, don’t be surprised – I didn’t have the opportunity to post yesterday, so have to pretend that today is yesterday ­čśÇ ), which means there is a themed market at Brixton Market today. It’s been a while since I last visited a street market, so it’s about time I did it again. I arrive at the Brixton tube station, and luckily it is one of the few stations┬áthat has step-free access, which is extremely convenient for me on my crutches.

IMG_1448

Brixton market is known as Europe’s largest Caribbean market, and there are also a lot of stalls selling African-related stuff. I have to admit, looking at these clothes I am struggling to tell whether these are Caribbean or African.

IMG_1450

This is Lambeth Town Hall, which, as far as I know, is closed for refurbishment until 2017, but fortunately the refurbishment doesn’t include the exterior of the building – so here it is for all of us to enjoy.

IMG_1454

Another interesting building in the area is the Ritzy Cinema, which has existed for more than hundred years.

IMG_1456

But enough of those interesting buildings, it’s time to explore the market! So I head onto Electric Avenue.

IMG_1457

First of all I see food, lots of food, which is being sold in lots of shops and outside stalls.

IMG_1458

Most of the food stalls seem to be Caribbean or African themed, but, as you can see, there is also a Chinese supermarket. I wonder whether this fish is imported from China.

IMG_1459

Looking at this stall, I once again struggle to say if it is African or Caribbean. I see a lot of yam and plantains, but they seem to be staples in both regions. And that green fruit on the first plan (or vegetable???), I can’t even recognise.

IMG_1460

These chickens look very different from your usual supermarket broilers. I know, it’s weird and unnatural, but I usually prefer the latter!

IMG_1461

As I walk onward, food stalls change into stalls selling shoes and household goods.

IMG_1462

That’s just a random residential street in Brixton – I think, it should be Pope’s Road.

IMG_1464

This is Pop Brixton, a space for startups and small businesses from Brixton and Lambeth, which includes restaurants, retailers and artists. Interestingly, only yesterday an article came out, mentioning that Pop Brixton has made a very significant operating loss during the few months that it has existed for.

IMG_1466

It’s impressive to see how much the venue owners care about their plants!

IMG_1465

I now turn onto a narrow lane along the railways and walk towards Brixton Road. The stalls here sell a range of products, from food to clothes and jewellery.

IMG_1467

It may sound funny, but I find this bookshop’s name sign so touching!

IMG_1468

That’s a really multipurpose stall: shoes, bags, a guitar and a great deal of other items.

IMG_1470

A┬áshop selling really dodgy clothes, claimed to be in “French” and “Italian” styles is such a common sight for me, however, I could hardly imagine seeing one in London out of all places.

IMG_1472

It’s always interesting to observe people who are eating and drinking, so whenever I pass by a┬árestaurant, caf├ę or bar with outdoors seating, I can never resist taking a picture.

IMG_1475

Japanese street food is a completely unfamiliar concept to me. There isn’t much variety displayed here, so I have to say, it remains largely unfamiliar.

IMG_1476

That’s an interesting sign, and apparently BOURGUEST is supposed to mean B Our Guest. It sounds very promising and intriguing, however, it’s not very clear, who exactly is welcoming you so warmly.

IMG_1477

I am now back at the Brixton station, and there is some sort of solidarity event going on. I didn’t come closer to see more details, but there was someone handing out some leaflets, a song about Che Guevara playing from speakers.

IMG_1478

 

 

Leave a Reply

