Bloomsbury

The London population is continuously being spoiled with proper summer weather. I still have a few places left to visit, and since I am meeting someone around Holborn, I’m going to make a post about the Bloomsbury area. I travel to the Russell Square station at get off there.

IMG_1558

This interestingly constructed building is the Brunswick residential and shopping centre, which for some reason is very often mentioned in popular culture.

IMG_1557

Then I turn onto Bernard Street and head towards Russell Square itself. Strangely, there are quite a few hotels surrounding Russell Square, which I can’t understand the rationale for. There are the buildings of the University of London, which I talked about in my post about Fitzrovia, on the other side of the square, but I’m not sure if these facts are related at all.

IMG_1559

The entrance to the garden square is one of the few places in London with the traditional heritage style phone boxes still remaining.

IMG_1560

What else would you expect to see on a green patch of any size in London on a warm sunny day, other than lots of people sitting on the grass, basking in the sun and enjoying themselves?

IMG_1561

The square is not even that big, but interestingly enough it has an established Friends of Russell Square society, which oversees its development and works with the community.

IMG_1562

Right in the centre of Russell Square there is a tiny fountain looking more like a puddle, but apparently that’s enough water for kids to play with and splash around.

IMG_1563

Picnics in the parks in London are absolutely the best! They are even enjoyable in early spring, when the first rays of sunlight shyly appear and make a very timid effort to slightly heat the ground, let alone summertime!

IMG_1564

I have already passed through Russell Square and am now heading via Montague Street towards Holborn.

IMG_1565

On my right, there is the massive building of the British Museum.

IMG_1566

More square gardens on my way – this time the Bloomsbury Square Gardens. I’m not entering though, as I’m already in a bit of a hurry, plus I don’t think there is anything much exciting in there to see.

IMG_1567

The only interesting thing I spot is the Victoria House, which looks really nice on the outside. Inside, it basically has lots of office, retail and leisure space.

IMG_1568

I am now almost running down Southampton Row, but still stop from time to time to take a picture of the street.

IMG_1569

Mind you, running does not feel extremely pleasant, as it is really hot and humid.

IMG_1570

Holborn is yet another toponym in London, which I’m struggling to pronounce properly. Apparently, the correct way to pronounce it is something like hoʊbərn, which sounds slightly weird.

IMG_1571

Finally, I’ve reached the Holborn tube station. I quite like this area, by the way, mainly for its architecture.

IMG_1572

 

2 thoughts on “Bloomsbury

Leave a Reply

